Album of the Day: Shpongle - Museum of Consciousness


Greetings music junkies! You might know today's album of the already, as it is probably more known than what I have shared recently, but if you know it then you know it's worth listening to it one more time! This album is a landmark in music history and will probably be remembered by generations in the future -that is if we don't all die in some sort of apocalypse of any type any time soon.

Shpongle - Museum of Consciousness


A bit more about it:

Shpongle is a psychedelic electronic music project from England that formed in 1996. The group includes Simon Posford (a.k.a. Hallucinogen) and Raja Ram (one of three in The Infinity Project).
The duo are considered to be one of the progenitors of the psybient genre - a genre combining world music with psychedelic trance and ambient.
Their musical style combines traditional music from all over the globe and vocals with contemporary western synthesizer-based psychedelic music.
Raja Ram stated in an interview that "Shpongle" is an umbrella term for feeling positive and euphoric emotions.



Raja Ram stated in an interview that "Shpongle" is an umbrella term for feeling positive and euphoric emotions. Shpongle's music is heavily influenced by psychedelic experiences and frequently makes use of sonic textures that approximate psychedelic states as well as vocal samples relating to consciousness expansion, hallucinations, and altered states of awareness. For example, the track "A New Way to Say 'Hooray'", contains a vocal sample of Terence McKenna describing the effects of DMT.


The tracks are listed in the following order:

  • Brain In A Fish Tank
  • How The Jellyfish Jumped Up The Mountain
  • The Aquatic Garden Of Extra-Celestial Delights
  • Juggling Molecules
  • Further Adventures In Shpongleland
  • The Epiphany Of Mrs Kugla
  • Tickling The Amygdala


I hope that you enjoy it as much as I do, because this specific album is worth some appreciation for the originality of it! Stay tuned tomorrow for some more.